A New Game: Teaching the Teacher

Over the past three months, the concept of developing my online identity and engaging with other users has taken a sharp upward turn.  What appeared to be a serious challenge full of doubt and apprehension has turned into an enjoyable experience involving networking, sharing ideas and having some fun.  Now for the next test.  Standing in front of the camera and speaking for longer than two seconds.  What’s that?  Those nerves are returning as the next challenge presents itself.

The whole concept of gamification in education has captured my interest.  In the past year professionally, my broadcasting career has taken me from presenting radio to teaching it.  At the same time, I have jumped back into full-time tertiary study in an attempt to complete something I began years ago.  I feel I have learned as much about educating others as students have learned about broadcasting from me.  Furthermore, my own studies have opened up new approaches to engaging with the content offered and staying motivated throughout units.  I feel as if two worlds are colliding.  Will a gamified approach to learning continue to keep me engaged and if I am any good at this teaching thing, could I use the same approach with others?

The gamified learning in Exploring Digital Media at Deakin had captured my attention and while I knew there were no prizes at the end for students with the most points, it subconsciously kept me involved in creating content and engaging with other students.  Scholarly readings in the course highlighted the same questions I was asking about gamification in education.  Does it work for a certain type of student?  Does the novelty wear off?  Can it impact overall grades?  Is this the future of education?

I also realised that my own children were using games and characters as a point rewards system at a primary level.  Updates on their progress and tally boards are emailed to me weekly.  Gamification in education – I wanted to explore this further.  I was able to draw on my own involvement thus far, along with delving further into my own children’s experience with the ClassDojo system.  My daughter’s Grade One teacher was more than happy to share her reasons for using the system and what she hopes to achieve with her class.

Dojo

ClassDojo taken by Joe Bovalino, 1 June 2016

Along with my own footage, I have sourced images and audio through Creative Commons.  This process has been much easier after learning what to look for.  The trap is to assume all content on the search sites are free to use.  I discovered many excellent images and pieces of music that were restricted by copyright.  Sometimes you need to explore deeper to find the magic ‘cc’ symbol.  Proper credit to those who have created material is like a little reward for them and a thank you from me in being allowed to use their work.

Learning a video editing system has been time consuming.  I researched a few online editing programs, attempted to download some free versions which almost crashed my laptop (panic!) however, I discovered that one of my children had already placed Movie Maker on my computer and was quite proficient in its use.  That’s right; the teacher was once again the student.  This is happening a lot in my life right now.  This time though, the teacher was my 10 year old.

Presenting work in video form requires a lot of research, preparation and time.  In creating something visual, it has challenged me rather than being face down in books writing academic essays.  It has been an extremely enjoyable experience.  I have embraced gamification and it is something I will think more about in my own work.  Now I wonder how many Dojo points my daughter’s teacher will give me.

623 WORDS.

REFERENCES:

Image

gamification by Jurgen Appelo (CC BY 2.0)

Music

Matter of Time (Mumblemix) by Incoherent Mumble Train (CC BY-NC 3.0)

Nintendo – Super Mario Theme by Artistic Raw (CC BY-NC 3.0)

Yama by robwalkerpoet (CC BY-NC 3.0)

Faiella, F and Ricciardi, M 2015, ‘Gamification and learning: a review of issues and research’, Journal of e-Learning and Knowledge Society, vol. 11, no. 3, pp. 13-21

Kim, B 2015, ‘The popularity of gamification in the mobile and social era’, Library Technology Reports, vol. 51, no. 2, pp. 5-9

Leaning, M 2015, ‘A study of use of games and gamification to enhance student engagement, experience and achievement on a theory-based course of an undergraduate media degree’, Journal of Media Practice, vol. 16, no. 2, pp. 155-170

MY BROADER ONLINE ACTIVITY AND ENGAGEMENT:

I am now confident with my use of twitter and engaging with other users.  I have enjoyed taking my posts to the next level by including video.  I produced a short video to practice my editing skills during the #MuseumMemory challenge, along with filming myself for the #IfICouldCrowdfund challenge.

My biggest improvement with online activity has been my blogging.  I have embraced the process of researching and writing many blogs along with adding other elements related to this unit and trying to make them informative and entertaining.

Please also take into consideration my Tiffit tally.

Leave a Reply

